Playground Uprising


The Day I Turned Uncool
September 26, 2007, 5:53 pm
Filed under: Education, Friends, getting old, uncool, work

uncool_cover.jpg

Each semester, during my Language and Literacy course, we devote one day to a Book Club celebration – anything for an excuse to bring coffee cake. In preparation for the festivities we select a book of interests. In past semesters we have enjoyed the likes of The Memory Keepers Daughter and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nigh-Time, to name a few. Well last semester my class decided they wanted to read The Day I Turned Uncool: Confessions of a Reluctant Grown-Up, about a teacher who stumbles upon the part of his life’s timeline where he finds lawnmowers more enthralling than a night out at the local pub. Hmmm … my class ranges in age from 19-23 and I have yet to spy a wrinkle or a bottle of prune juice in the bunch. I on the other hand am beginning to wonder if the more expensive facial cream (that would be the one with wrinkle guard) is perhaps worth the extra cash and recently found myself touting the merits of sensible shoes to a far more fashionable colleague. This mounting granny chest of evidence points to the fact that my uncool calendar just might have flipped a wee bit earlier than anticipated and to confirm my growing proclivity for the outdated – I just opened my tape player (as if that doesn’t say it all) to find a treasured collection of Christmas songs sung by the everly famous uncool Kenny G. Care for V8?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

