Playground Uprising


This I Believe
June 13, 2007, 1:12 pm
Filed under: Belief, Depression, Education, Family, writing

111006_sunrise.jpg

 

This I Believe …

Yesterday my class examined personal writing, in particular the Personal Essay. NPR’s series “This I Believe” served as the focus for our craft study. If you have not heard this weekly segment aired on NPR, and especially if you have, I encourage you to explore the site: http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=4538138.

There you will find brave men and women telling, through voice recordings and written text, stories that will change who you might become. Some are famous, some live next door, some say things that make you think, “this man is talking to me,” and others document experiences you can’t imagine owning.

Andy Blowers’ personal essay on Depression, “The Person I’m Suppose to Be,” served as our model. He wrote, “At 16, my first episode hit me hard enough to think I’d literally gone to hell. Now, at 35, when I start dreaming of haunted houses and worrying uncontrollably about the future, I know another episode is looming. I’ve got a week’s notice, maybe two. And then it’s as if I’m drifting off to exile inside myself with only a shell remaining.” I selected this piece because it spoke to my experiences and personal essays at their core are intimate. (Andy’s story: http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=8931602).

Following our investigation, the students had twenty-minutes to write their own “This I Believe” personal essay. In response to Andy’s belief, “I believe pain tells us something critical about ourselves and life: that developing strength and empathy and bravery is more essential than our personal comfort. And when I think of it like that, I’m more willing to accept suffering on its terms,” I wrote:

This I Believe …

I believe that madness is hard to define, easy to slip into, and often undistinguishable from daily reality. I know this because my mother is mad. In other words, she is mad at herself, and her situation, and the perceived predicament that has put her here, with her anger, her anxiety, her mania, and her psychosis. And it is this expression of madness that makes me know that she needs help that I cannot provide and have difficulty accepting because I don’t know when she is angry, and when she is mad, and when the darkness pervades so as to completely dismiss her from my reality, therefore, giving her a pass on the unkind word, or inappropriate stance, or threatening move forward. But it is the undistinguishability of this madness that makes me believe that though the presence or absence and origin are important to her doctors and psychotherapists and case workers they are increasingly less important to me, that meaning and understanding reached a 33 year plateau in books, and conference calls, and appointments, and now lies solely in listening, whether it be to sanity or departure, and praying for more peaceful tomorrows.

Now a request for hopeful response:

Students …. if you are bored enough to actually check out my site today I would love for you to post your own “This I Believe” essay. You have important things to share.

For the world at large: I too invite you to tell me what “you believe.”
<>

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thank you and wow for the honor of examining my NPR piece in your class and here on your site. I’m still in the phase of wondering how what I did might be affecting those who listened, so it’s great to come across this. I don’t normally read many blogs, but yours is one of the finest, most thoughtful, and enjoyable I’ve seen. I’ve been bouncing around from link to link getting very informed and enlightened!

For what it’s worth,

Andy

Comment by Andy

This I believe:
We really can not take on and survive this crazy adveture some call life alone. At times it seems we are alone yet that is not true. We all have loved ones, friends, family, and sometimes even complete strangers who are out there and very willing to lend a helping hand, a soft shoulder, or simply a quiet ear. It is odd to me how we are such strong women and always willing to help others. In fact we get almost angry and upset when those who need us do not ask for help;yet, do we ask? No. We think we can do it all by ourselves, without anyone else. We seem to think it make us seem less of a woman or mother or person to ask. However, we do not need to go at it alone. I hope can can teach my children that they are stronger people if they do ask for help when they need it. Becasue let’s face it, we ALL need help sometimes….

Comment by Ginny




Leave a Reply

