Playground Uprising


GoLean
May 30, 2007, 1:38 pm
Filed under: Children, Family, work

34619078.jpg

We have entered our third week of work. I am not sure why I say WE as is I have yet to see anyone in my car at 7:30 in the morning as I head up 95, and I imagine if I did I would have other things to consider, such as, grabbing my cell phone and calling 911, but nonetheless WE are on the path. And though I am alone on the road, upon arrival at work, my college students inspire me as they share their experiences in the public schools and talk about the types of teachers they hope to one day become, and my graduate students energize me with their worldly experiences and innovated ideas for the classroom. So I suppose the We works. I have also fallen, albeit like a reluctant child, somewhat into a schedule. If I am up by 5:15 I have time to shower and dress before little people get up at 5:45 to watch The Magic School Bus (a fancy ride indeed). Then, if I turn the dryer on when I roll out of bed the heat mirrors a broke down version of our nonexistent iron and keeps the family safely away from social service inquirers as I messily place their folded clothes into cluttered drawers. As the clock ticks on to 6:15 Mac and I are dressed and there is 70% likelihood that the little man has brushed his teeth, and at this time in our lives we will take those odds. About now Charlie has wakened and is busily watching what happens when he flails his plump trunks into the air and they catch gravity with a thud. He would happily stay in his crib for another half hour (because someone upstairs understands that the line between sanity and madness is almost undistinguishable in our home) but is more than willing to head downstairs for a little bottle and Matt Laur. As we arrive in the den, Greg is making a breakfast of cereal bars and fruit because the feast of frozen pancakes and waffles has gone uneaten one too many times and the tearing of prepackaged plastic helps to keep the lull. A purple lunch bag of Kashi GoLean bars, cheese sandwiches, and bananas is prepared, shoved, and ready for action and we are out the door and up 95 and not totally disappointed to be Alone for the next 50 minutes.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

http://pressposts.com/Family/GoLean/

Submited post on PressPosts.com – “GoLean”

Trackback by PressPosts / User / porcupinebeard / Submitted

Yeah- you’re back! I love reading your blog! Glad that you are somehow finding time to write through the craziness…

Comment by stacey




Leave a Reply

