Playground Uprising


Mommy and Macky Days
March 22, 2007, 12:36 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Today is a Mommy Macky Day, the name given to the time each week when I keep Mac home from preschool so we can romp around town and engage in educational activities like riding the tractors at Lowes as we try to ignore the large sign that says, “Stay Off The Tractor: Yeh … We Mean You Lady With The Two Rugrats” and other adventures to include, layovers at Barnes and Nobles to visit Thomas the Train in the children’s section followed by some quality time in the reading nook to peruse the fine literary works of the Ninja Turtles, all while I down a healthful cup of Starbucks and gain quickly forgotten fashion tips from trashy magazines I am too embarrassed to actually purchase.

Then we are off to grab essential household items like peanut butter, diapers, and various painkillers. A 100 calorie bag of Orville Redenbacher’s Gourmet Popping Corn and an Academy Award Winning flick like Paddington wraps up our day, and we are off to the showers to flush out the sand, dirt, and general green slime that somehow evaded me but has clung tightly to ever exposed surface of Mac’s little body.

Come April, as I head back up the highway to work, the tractors and the turtles and the books will be the backdrop I use to recall my abbreviated days as a stay at home mom with a Macadamia Nut and a Pipsqueak and it is then I will start to listen out for the Ninja call that usually comes on State holidays and particularly nice afternoons.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh Dorothy… Somehow I thought you had the whole sememster off. I bet you are having mixed feelings but I am bummed that we still haven’t gotten together for coffee!

Comment by stacey

It makes me so sad to think your time is aomost up.. I wonder..how do you feel? Sad, relieved, overwhelmed, happy, nervous??? All of the above.. we love you…

Comment by Ginny




Leave a Reply

