Playground Uprising


Powderless
March 21, 2007, 2:49 pm
Filed under: beauty, drugstore, powder

pressed_powder_lrg.jpg


Ok folks, I need your help.

Lets talk powder. My Clinique compact is about to expire and each time I plan to hit the makeup counter at Macey’s a voice inside my head berates my intention to spend $18.50 on beauty, and so I deflate as I walk out of the store powderless.

I became a loyal Clinique user in high school, originally lured by their hypoallergenic ingredients and stance not to test on animals, but over the years I have replaced their lipsticks, mascaras, and blushes for drugstore imposters.

I have, however, not found an exit strategy for my Stay-Matte Sheer Clinique powder. In fact I have twins, one resides in my makeup bag and the other in my small purse pocket.  We have a steadfast friendship.

It is not that I have not tried to find their replacements, I have. My attempts go like this,

-I am in Ukrops.
-I spot a prettily packaged powder
-I am sure this is the day my quandary will be solved and throw the powder into my cart atop the bagged spinach and cookie crunch cereal
-I get in the car, rip open the package, and immediately make plans to attend a lunchtime support group to discuss my continuous disappointment with powders that are too dark, too heavy, and just managed to blow funds that could have been better spent on school tuition or Dairy Queen (both equally important).

Here is some background information. I wear little makeup. If you saw me on the street you would likely suggest I wear more, but get off my back. So I am looking for a powder that is man enough to stand alone with the occasional companionship of a soft blush.

So… help me help myself and tell me what drugstore powder I can purchase that will give me enough coverage to satisfy the critics but not so much to excite fan mail from the circus, all packaged in a price that will please my inner scrooge.

This is the part of the show where you click on the comment box and contribute your sage advice. Come on America, I need you!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

i say spend the cash on clinque. skimp on other stuff. you just can’t be good enough to your skin, honey. xo
catherine

Comment by catherine

okay okay okay… I TRY and help you in the comment area but with this one I am at a loss… FOR OBVIOUS reasons if you looked at my face lately…GInny

Comment by Ginny




Leave a Reply

