Playground Uprising


Getting Old
March 16, 2007, 12:09 pm
Filed under: Aging, diet, getting old

shar-pei2a.jpg

 

I am getting old.

A fact I had managed to deny until yesterday when I looked into the mirror to find crows feet and other unattractive facial creases (this just sounds better than wrinkles) heckling me.

I am not sure if they arose overnight or if I just haven’t truly “seen” myself for the past 12 months, which would explain why I tend to wear the same outfit repeatedly and it is not even particularly attractive.

These reminders of my fragile vitality seem exceptionally cruel since I always wear sunscreen; don’t drink, smoke, or engage in any other mind-altering activities (to exclude lack of sleep and cartoon overdose); and have been a vegetarian for 15 years.

Regardless of the cause, the sighting was enough to prompt me to throw in some L’Oreal wrinkle cream yesterday as I cruised down the supermarket aisle, trying to pretend I was picking it up for someone old, like my husband.

And despite the Today Show swearing off the merits of such creams, and goodness knows no one understands science better than Matt Laur, I felt just a bit younger as I greased up and no one yet has taken up calling me grandma.

GOTS any hints of your own?

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

i heard vaseline works. i’ve heard of some women slathering it on their faces. maybe it makes you look younger b/c after using it, your face breaks out with 1,000,000 zits?

Comment by catherine

I say ge the hellout of dodge for awhile and leave ALL WORRIES far far FAR behind… not a REAL possibility but it WOULD help with the aging process…

Comment by Ginny

Hi PU,
Check out this article in Slate. “The Midlife Happiness Crisis” http://www.slate.com/id/2161925/ As you look to be an attractive 30-something,things will likely get worse before your sense of life satisfaction improves.

Comment by stephenconnolly




Leave a Reply

