Playground Uprising


It is Freaken Cold!
February 6, 2007, 1:54 pm
Filed under: Children, Family, Life

It is Freaken Cold!

I went running this morning and for those of you not fortunate enough to live in the greater Richmond area it is approximately 8 degrees outside. Now that might not be a big deal to you Midwesterners but here in Virginia an inch of snow and we are ready to close down government buildings, not that this significantly alters the daily workings of the city. As I ran up Monument Avenue I got numerous “what the hell is wrong with you looks,” but these faces obviously did not understand the true value of solitude. This is the thirty minutes I have each day when nobody is peeing on my pants, demanding yogurt covered raisins, or catapulting matchbox cars down the spiral staircase. So the road and the crisp air and the running nose and the “what the hell is wrong with you looks” become welcome companions. So what do you do to keep you sanity that is cheaper than paying a therapist $150 an hour? Really…. Let me know …. Comment! …I am beginning to feel pretty lonely out here in blogland.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

HA! I “try” to fit exercise in my busy routine. Sor far, I have failed miserably… Maybe some day!

Comment by spha

I go and take part in the FREE child care, did I mention the word FREE????? yes FREE child care at the gym and then spend as much time as I can oin the cardio area before taking a short yet QUIET shower and dress in peace before picking up the crew… Of course, if this is not an option, there is always LOTS of ICE CREAM and the FOOD NETWORK to keep me happy…

Comment by Ginny

i work it out, too. i take the baby to the ymca baby care and leave him there for the max amount of time i can while i huff and puff on the machines. oh sure, i’m tempted to run to my car and drive away after dropping him off, but the lure of the lucious quiet of the steam room post workout always keeps me sane. at least so far …

Comment by catherine




Leave a Reply

